Marriage


Marriage License Applications are accepted Monday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

How do I apply for a marriage license?

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the recorder's office. The application process can be time consuming. Please arrive at the Recorder's Office by 4 pm to assure adequate time. If you would like to start the process, you may begin by completing an eMarriage Application online at home or use our computers here at the courthouse.  We will print the application when you arrive to apply for the license.  Both of the parties must appear in person to complete the application process. Please bring your valid Driver's License as identification.  The license is valid for a period of 6 months. You will be provided one certified copy of the certificate at no charge.

Fee for marriage application:

Application:  $115
Reduced Marriage fee:  $40.00

You can qualify for a reduced marriage fee if at the time you apply you provide an Educator's Statement that has exactly the following wording and names of the bride and groom in the Educator's Statement are identical to the legal names (first, middle, last) of the bride and groom as they appear in the marriage license application. (According to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 517)

Reduced Marriage Fee Educators Statement (must be brought in at time of application)

(b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed 12 hours of premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a signed, dated, and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.

(c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph (b) must be in the following form:

"I, ................(name of educator), confirm that ....................(names of both parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, Section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."

The names of the parties in the educator’s statement must be identical to the legal names of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application.  Notwithstanding section 138.17, the educator’s statement must be retained for seven years, after which time it may be destroyed.

Please click here for a fillable copy of the Reduced Marriage Fee Educators Statement


The Wedding Ceremony

  • You may choose to have a marriage ceremony performed by anyone authorized by law to provide the service. In Minnesota, this includes judges and court administrators.
  • Ministers of any religious denomination may also perform the marriage ceremony if they have filed a copy of their ministerial credentials with a Local Registrar in the state.
  • The law requires that your marriage ceremony be witnessed by two people who are sixteen (16) years old or older.
  • The person performing the marriage ceremony will prepare one certificate of marriage. The certificate will be filed with the Local Registrar of the county where the marriage license was issued. The Local Registrar records the marriage and mails a certified copy of the certificate to you at the address you entered on your application form.

How do I file my credentials of license or Ordination?

For an ordained person (both Minnesota residents and non-residents) to be authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in Minnesota, the person must:

  • Be at least 21 years old.
  • File their credentials of license or ordination with a Minnesota county.
  • Once this is complete, marriages may be performed anywhere in the State of Minnesota. 

Complete the following steps to file your credentials by mail.

  1. Send a copy of your license OR Certificate of Ordination (Do not send your original record).
  2. Complete and enclose Certificate of Filing form (PDF).
  3. Enclose $20.00 check or money order payable to Isanti County Recorder

Mail to:

Isanti County Recorder
555 18th Ave S
Cambridge, MN 55008  

Instructions and notification of your record location will be mailed to you after the record is filed.

Filing your credentials in person

Complete the following steps to file your credentials in our office.

  1. Bring a copy of your license OR Certificate of Ordination.
  2. Pay $20 cash, check or money order payable to Isanti County or credit or debit cards.
  3. Complete and enclose Certificate of Filing form (PDF).

Location:

Isanti County Recorder
555 18th Ave SW
Cambridge, MN  55008
763-689-1191

Hours:

Please arrive 1/2 hour prior to closing to ensure services.
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


How to locate the county where your marriage certificate is filed.

https://www.moms.mn.gov

If you are not sure where your marriage certificate is filed you can search the state marriage licenses index by clicking on the link above.  You can search by name, county and year. Copies of marriage certificates can only be purchased in the county where the licenses was filed.  If your licenses is not in Isanti County we will not be able to issue you a certified copy.


How do I obtain a certified copy of a marriage certificate?

You may request marriage records by mail or in person.
Isanti County marriage records: approximately 1871 to present.
Price: $9 per copy.

Request marriage record by mail

Complete the following steps to request a marriage record by mail.

  1.   Download and complete the Marriage Record Request Application (PDF).
  2.   Enclose $9 check or money order payable to Isanti County.

Mail to:

Isanti County Recorder
555 18th Ave S
Cambridge, MN 55008

Request marriage record in person

Complete the following steps to request a marriage record in our office.

  1.   Download and complete the Marriage Record Request Application (PDF), or pick up an Application in the office.
  2.   Pay $9 cash, check, credit or debit card.  Make checks payable to Isanti County.

Hours:

Please arrive 1/2 hour prior to closing to ensure services.
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.